top of page

Top Ten Tuesday


This Week's Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a "Freebie Week," which means you can pick any past Top Ten topic to discuss. I was going to pick something cool that I missed out on, but I didn't post my Top Ten from last week, which was My Top Ten 2016 Releases So Far This Year. So that's what you're getting right meow. I only did a Top Four, so chill out. This is mainly because most of the exciting new releases are #1s of new series, and being that I'm not a fucking masochist who gets off on the torture of waiting a whole year for a new book, I like to wait until there are at least a couple books in a series out before I commit to them -- unless it's a series by Sarah J. Maas, because that bitch has me gagged and chained waiting for more Throne of Glass and ACOTAR, and I'm LOVING IT.

ANYWAY, getting started with my Top 4, my first pick is, SURPRISE! A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (otherwise known as ACOMAF, which you already know if you're actually cool). This book blew my mind. The jump that Maas makes from book 1 in this series to this... it's insane. 3 things when I come to mind when I look back on this book.

1. Girl Power

2. Hot Sex

3. Cool Faerie Magic Shit

If those aren't buzz words for you, then I feel sad for you, because your life is boring and not worth living. SARAH J. MAAS is a queen, and this book may be her best published work yet.

My second pick is I Had a Nice Time and Other Lies...: How to Find Love and Sh*T Like That by The Betches. I'm already a master betch when it comes to dating, but I thought I'd pick this one up to see if it would be as hilarious as their 2015 release, Nice is Just a Place in France. Again, if you've never heard of The Betches, or don't know what they're all about, wtf is wrong with you? Go educate yourself before it's too late: Betches. BUT YA, it was almost as funny as their first, definitely more serious though. Still had lots of laugh-out-loud moments, which is why it's one of my favs.

The third book I want to mention is Truthbitch uhhhh I mean Truthwitch by Susan Denard. The reason I originally picked this one up is because Susan Denard and Sarah J. Maas are like, real life besties. SO I figured that if their writing had anything in common, it would be worth checking out. I got about 70 pages in, and then was bored AF, to be honest. BUT that being said, it's still making my Top Four because so so so many people have said that once you get through the first 100 pages or so, it really takes off. There's supposed to be some great "female friendship" so yay. That's like, cool. Sure.

OK the last book on my miniature list - which I'm sure you think is just me being lazy, but don't forget that excuse I used earlier - is The Crown by Kiera Cass. The Selection series is one of my all time favs, and I'm currently on my 3rd read-through of it (in preparation for The Crown). It's, honestly, not the most spectacularly written series, BUT THE STORY IS FUN AS FUCK, and there are lots of makeout seshes. Which is good enough for me. Really excited to read The Crown and see how Cass concludes this addicting story.

Have you read any of these? Are you excited about any of these 2016 releases? What books are on your list? What's you favourite color? Leave a comment in the comment section (duh) and let us know! We'd also love to see your Top Ten from this week, so leave a link, betch.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
bottom of page